In 1804, Eli Shugart established his tavern at the corner of Sugartown and Dutton Mill Road to provide a place for weary travelers to spend the night as they hauled freight and raw materials to market. Almost immediately, the stop became known as “Shugart’s Town.” Eli moved on after only two years, but the name stuck. In 1847, Sharpless and Abigail Worrall and their family arrived in Sugartown and opened a General Store. Sugartown quickly transformed into a bustling village corner, bringing people together to exchange news, conduct business and share their lives as a community. Today, Historic Sugartown is a preserved 19th-century village, offering tours, programs and events that explore community life and inspire new generations to our shared American heritage and historic preservation.
Historic Sugartown is located at the corner of Sugartown Road, and Boot and Spring Roads in Malvern, PA. 2014 Hours: Saturdays 11 am - 4 pm, and Sundays, 1 - 4 pm starting May 3rd. By GPS: Enter 273 Boot Road, Malvern, PA 19355 to bring you directly to Historic Sugartown’s visitor parking.